Lucinda Williams Essence

I first heard of Lucinda Williams in 1998 when “Car Wheels on a Gravel Road” was released and Walter Tunis was gush­ing about it. I poo-poohed it because it all seemed so silly.

Later, when “Essence” was released, the gush­ing was still going on so I thought I’d give Lucinda a try. Turns out Walter was right, and I have been a fan of Lucinda’s (and Walter’s) ever since, even expand­ing my Lucinda col­lec­tion dramatically.

Of all my Lucinda music, this album had the most emo­tion­al impact on me. Give it a try — it might affect you in a good way too.

Album Information

Released    June 5, 2001

Length        50:58

Label           Lost Highway

Producer    Bo Ramsey Tom Tucker Lucinda Williams

All songs writ­ten by Lucinda Williams

“Lonely Girls” – 4:01

“Steal Your Love” – 3:14

“I Envy the Wind” – 3:12

“Blue” – 3:52

“Out of Touch” – 5:25

“Are You Down” – 5:24

“Essence” – 5:50

“Reason to Cry” – 3:39

“Get Right with God” – 4:16

“Bus to Baton Rouge” – 5:50

“Broken Butterflies” – 5:41

Lucinda Williams – vocals, acoustic guitar

Jim Keltner – drums

Tony Garnier – bass, acoustic guitar

Bo Ramsey – elec­tric guitar

Charlie Sexton – drums, hand drum, rhythm gui­tar, Hammond B3 organ, piano, back­ground vocals, tremo­lo slide guitar

Reese Wynans – Hammond B3 organ

Jim Lauderdale – har­mo­ny vocals

David Mansfield – viola

Ryan Adams – tremo­lo gui­tar (“Essence”)

Gary Louris – back­ground vocals (“Essence”)

Joy Lynn White – back­ground vocals (“Get Right With God”, “Bus to Baton Rouge”, “Broken Butterflies”)

Listen to the com­plete album here:

  • Jeff Brandt

    Jeff has been a music fan since the age of 7 when the album Meet the Beatles hit the streets. He grew up in Hoptown and went to col­lege at UK a cou­ple of times. He retired in 2016 and is cur­rent­ly amass­ing his music col­lec­tion. Jeff says he loves being retired but is tired of quarantining.