I nev­er cared much for Faces but a few years ago, I bought the com­pi­la­tion 4‑CD set Five Guys Walk Into a Bar. Recently I sat down and start­ed lis­ten­ing to the CDs and read­ing the accom­pa­ny­ing book­let. It took me two sit­tings to lis­ten all the way through the 5‑hour 67-song pack­age. I came away with a new appre­ci­a­tion for this band.

The band pro­duced 5 stu­dio albums:

First Step (March 1970)

Long Player (February 1971)

A nod is as good as a wink… (November 1971)

Ooh La La (March 1973)

The Faces’ Last Sessions (January 1975)

Somebody in high school had the 8‑track tape of “A nod” and it seemed to be play­ing all the time. Because of the song “Stay With Me,” it was prob­a­bly their best-sell­ing album in the US.

Album Information

All tracks writ­ten by Rod Stewart and Ronnie Wood unless noted.

No.      Title                                       Writer(s)                     Lead vocals   Length

1.         “Miss Judy’s Farm”                                                  Stewart           3:38
2.         “You’re So Rude”                 Lane McLagan         Lane               3:41
3.         “Love Lives Here”                Lane Stewart Wood Stewart          3:04
4.         “Last Orders Please”           Lane                           Lane               2:33
5.         “Stay with Me”                                                         Stewart           4:37
6.         “Debris”                                 Lane                           Lane               4:36
7.        “Memphis”                            Chuck Berry              Stewart           5:29
8.         “Too Bad”                                                                 Stewart          3:12
9.         “That’s All You Need”                                             Stewart           5:06

Rod Stewart – lead vocals on tracks 1, 3, 5 & 7–9, har­mon­i­ca
Ronnie Lane – bass, acoustic gui­tar, per­cus­sion, lead vocals on tracks 2, 4 & 6, back­ing vocals on “Too Bad“
Ronnie Wood – lead, slide, acoustic and ped­al steel gui­tars, har­mon­i­ca, back­ing vocals on “Too Bad“
Ian McLagan – piano, organ, back­ing vocals on “Too Bad“
Kenney Jones – drums, per­cus­sion
Harry Fowler – steel drums on “That’s All You Need“
Glyn Johns – co-pro­duc­er, engineer

Released          November 17, 1971
Recorded         March–September 1971 at Olympic Studios, London
Length              35:56
Label                Warner Bros.
Producer           Faces and Glyn Johns

  • Jeff Brandt

    Jeff has been a music fan since the age of 7 when the album Meet the Beatles hit the streets. He grew up in Hoptown and went to col­lege at UK a cou­ple of times. He retired in 2016 and is cur­rent­ly amass­ing his music col­lec­tion. Jeff says he loves being retired but is tired of quarantining.